Charité University Hospital Berlin

The Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin was originally established in 1710 as a quarantine hospital outside the gates of Berlin. Its history is inseparably linked with innovative scientific, medical, and nursing achievements. Following the merger of the medical faculties of the Free University Berlin and the Humboldt University Berlin, the Charité is now one of the largest university hospitals in Europe. Its clinics and institutes are organized in 17 Chariteé Centres and they employ some 14,500 staff members. The four campuses - Benjamin Franklin (CBF), Berlin-Buch (CBB), Mitte (CCM), and Virchow (CVK) - form an organizational unit. More than 3,000 scientists are working at the Chariteé, 1,500 of which are financed from external grants. Seven main research fields have been established 2004: Oncology, Neurosciences, Cardio-vascular research, Musculo-sceletal research, Immunopathology / Infectiology / Rheumatology / Allergology, Molecular Medicine / Genetics / Genome research, Transplantation medicine. Since 2011 the research activities at the Charité have been supplemented by the setup of a central biobank (ZeBanC) which will cover all major research biobanks as well as the clinical biospecimens from the Pathology and the Laboratory Medicine.